My computer died

Sorry for the silence, but after serving me for six faithful years my motherborad finally died on me. The iPad is sadly a pain to use with wordpress, so no computer means no blogging.

After a week of mourning I finally manned up and got into the process of building a new rig. Things have been changing for the last six years, so I needed some time to get up to date with the latest technology. Hopefully my new rig will be up and running this weekend. I went “the most bang for buck route” and will build a system based on the Intel i7 2700K CPU. It will be complimented with quality parts from Corsair and ASUS which have served me well in all my PCs since the 1990s. Here’s the specs for those of you interested:

Case: Corsair Obsidian 800D
Casefans: 5 x Noctua 120mm and 140mm fans
CPU: Intel i7 2700K
Cooler: Corsair H100 Hydro Series
RAM: 4x4GB Corsair Dominator CL9 1600 MHz
RAM cooler: Corsair AirFlow fan and AirFlow PRO
Motherborad: ASUS Maximus IV Extreme Z68
GPU: ASUS GeForce GTX 580 1536MB
SSDs: 2 x 240GB Corsair SSD Force Series GT
HDDs: 4 x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
DVD: Plextor PX-L890SA

Leave a Reply

